Benjamin photo
San Diego Symphony

Beethoven Concerto No. 3 and Symphony No. 4

Jacobs Masterworks Series

Fri, Feb 24 & Sat, Feb 25, 2023 @ 8:00P

Fri, Feb 24 & Sat, Feb 25, 2023 @ 8:00P

Civic Theatre
Run Time
Must be 5+ years to attend. All ages must have own ticket.


Case Scaglione, conductor
Benjamin Grosvenor, piano

Igor Stravinsky: Symphonies of Wind Instruments [1947 revision]
Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Op. 60


The Piano Concerto No. 3 has been described as a turning point in Beethoven’s development as a composer, “where he leaves Mozart behind and becomes Beethoven,” as one observer put it. Romantic, imposing and virtuosic: the voice of a composer becoming his true self. The sonorous and lyrical pianist Benjamin Grosvenor performs the concerto, with Case Scaglione leading the Orchestra. The second half features Beethoven’s powerful Symphony No. 4.

Arrive early! The Symphony will host a preshow lecture before both performances, from 7P-7:30P.